The Art of Procrastination.

procrastination |prəˌkrastəˈnāSHən, prō-|

noun

the action of delaying or postponing something.

Oh wow, two entries in a day. I’m on a roll, I could also be procrastinating which, coincidently is the topic of this entry. I do this a lot, I leave a lot of things to the last minute, and I complain, a lot. After all of which, I would sit in front of what I’m supposed to do, and I would go into a daze before I officially start working on it.

You are supposed to be doing something right now, aren’t you? But instead, you’re sitting right here and reading my musings. Feeling guilty? I bet you are. Yeah, me too.

Procrastination, the word itself connotes negativity. It’s a bad thing to procrastinate. You shouldn’t procrastinate. Here’s a tip, don’t procrastinate — is what you would usually hear in a sentence with “procrastinate” in it.

Having said all that, I don’t think procrastination is a bad thing. Not for me, at least. I work really well under pressure, in fact, I work under pressure. I need  that sense of urgency to get me going, to get my brain to go into overdrive. See, the nearer you are to the deadline, the faster you have to work, and you would tend to be less distracted.

-inserts a half an hour break here-

So I’ve unintentionally figured out what fuels procrastination — distraction. Distraction fuels procrastination. Half way through this entry, I saw an empty postcard, picked it up and started writing to Derek. It was only when I was done, that I realize that I wasn’t finished with this entry. Whoa, I think I may have just brought procrastination to a whole new level.

Anyhow, back to what I was trying to get at. Procrastination isn’t for everyone though. Some people I know crack under pressure, they break down, they go into a panic attack, and they even give up sometimes. Those are the people who needs to get things done way before the deadline. I am not one of those people.

You know how some to-do applications have different colour-coded flags for the different urgency of the tasks? Green for not so urgent, yellow for medium urgency, and red for super urgent. My to-do list would be filled with red flags and overdue tasks that are left undone.

Like right now, I’m supposed to be brainstorming the answers to my American Pluralism midterms on Wednesday, but here I am, typing away, talking about the art of procrastination with my notes and research strewed out  in front of me. Sometimes, talking about (or doing) insignificant things is so much easier than say, studying. (Great, it just struck me that I still have French assignment to do.)

At this point, I’m not sure if there’s a problem with me or if this works better for me. I’m pretty sure though, that I whine about how I’m always rushing my assignments and revisions. Yet, I still do it repeatedly. Oh well.

Procrastination, yay or nay?

until next time

-n

Leave a Reply

