Wanderlust.

I have always been in love with cities I’ve never been to; cities I would hear about in books and songs. Copacabana is one, Buenos Aires is another one of the many, many cities I’ve heard about. I remember when I was younger, I told myself that I will go to Buenos Aires one day. I didn’t even know how it looked like, what country it is in, what languages they spoke, hell, I didn’t even know how to pronounce Buenos Aires. It was only when I googled them that I realised that Copacabana is in Brazil and Buenos Aires is in Argentina.

I can’t explain my fascination with these places I’ve never been to, I can spend hours on the internet just looking at images of  cities. Just like that, I would go from cities to cities, virtually. Oh what I wouldn’t give to be able to actually go there someday.

Lately, I’ve been reading a lot of articles about how we should travel while we’re young, how money should not be an issue, and how this is the only time you can really explore. While I agree with all these articles, and while my soul fiercely believes in all the words these authors have said, there’s a part of me that’s scared.

Okay, I wouldn’t really call it scared, I’m just worried — about how I would survive, and what I would eat if I didn’t make sure that I have sufficient amount of money before I go all crazy and buy my one way ticket. The thing is, I believe that I can survive and I’ve been telling myself that once I have enough money for a plane ticket out of here, I would leave. I never really have enough money.

I’m not sure about you, but I know that I would not be satisfied if traveling only meant 2 weeks in the same city. I’ve done plenty of those when I was younger, with my family. I want to spend months at a time, exploring a country, or a couple of its cities. I want to make friends with the locals and learn their way of life. I want to live in the city, I don’t want to be a tourist. So yes, money will be an issue because I need to survive to see the wonderful things all these countries have to offer.

Believe me you, I want to leave this place. I want to go out and explore on my own and I will. I am still sticking to my plan of leaving at the end of the year. I already have a place in mind, and a person I have been dying to meet for what feels like forever.

Leave a Reply

