The Layover.

And so it begins, I’ve embarked on my journey to the other side of the world. Truth be told, I didn’t feel the excitement until I walked towards the departure hall. I remembered when this was all a dream, now I’ve made it come true. I also remembered counting down, from 80 odd days to the very last few days – which crawled by really slowly.

I thought it would be a bigger deal when I boarded the plane, since this is my first time taking a plane on my own, but really it didn’t feel like it was anything special. I guess I really can survive on my own. Honestly, it was the most unpleasant flight I’ve ever taken. All I have to say is that if you’re at the window seat, you should refrain from drinking so much liquid because I ain’t moving every 5 minutes for you to get out and go to the bathroom. Or maybe you can stay in the bathroom the entire flight.

Anyways, I don’t think I’ve seen much of Philippines. It is more scary than it seemed to be roaming the streets of Manila on my own, I think I may have underestimated my guts. Manila reminded me of Bangkok and maybe even Kuala Lumpur. The streets were not as clean, the roads looked like it has been aged over and over. While I was on the cab to Mall of Asia, we stopped at a couple stoplights and there were people weaving through cars while peddling drinks and snacks. The last time I saw something like that was in Thailand. The way the cabby drove scared that crap out of me, I mean, I’m not the safest driver, so I’ve been told. But the cab drivers here take the cake, actually, Hong Kong’s cab drivers are as reckless but it works for them.

Oh, by the way, Mall of Asia is not as fancy as you’ve heard. It’s just like any other regular mall in Singapore, maybe that’s why it doesn’t really have any appeal for me. Lots of big brands and food, of course. Speaking of food, I thought I should give Jollibee a try since I’m in The Philippines. When I found one (they’re not difficult to find), it was PACKED. The one in Singapore is always packed, and I’d understand why since it’s almost the only one you can find back home. But here, it is everywhere, but it is PACKED. It was like the entire Singapore was in that fast food joint, so naturally, as impatient as I am, I decided to give it a pass.

The best part about my 18 hours layover was when I asked a stranger if she wanted to tap the internet connection from my phone. That kind of got the rest at the table talking, well, until they had to leave.

I’m really excited for USA, it’s starting to pump up now. It was pretty mellow when I landed in Manila, but it is slowly creeping up on me. Just one more flight and I’ll be there. Years of dreaming and planning, it’s finally happening. I think many people are happy for me, maybe what I’m doing will inspire them to do the same someday.

From here on, it’s about 12 hours. Until next time.

Leave a Reply

